Clinton Surpasses Obama in Site Traffic Race, Paul Rockets to First

ClickZ_Campaign08_katefinal.jpgHillary Clinton overtook Barack Obama in May, John Edwards and Rudy Giuliani held steady and Ron Paul rocketed from fifth place to first. That’s according to Hitwise data showing the ebb and flow of traffic to the official sites of the Democratic and Republican presidential primary candidates.

In a custom report created for ClickZ News, Hitwise measured traffic market share of the candidate sites. The measurement firm found traffic to Democratic candidate sites was top heavy, favoring Clinton’s, Obama’s and Edwards’s sites. HillaryClinton.com garnered nearly a third of visits among Democratic candidate sites in May. BarackObama.com attracted almost 28 percent, and JohnEdwards.com drew 23 percent of visitors to Dem campaign sites last month.

Visits to Republican candidate sites were spread a bit more evenly among the sites tracked. RonPaul2008.com drew a 27 percent share of visitors to Republican candidate sites in May. MittRomney.com attracted almost 21 percent of visits last month, while JohnMccain.com brought in almost 13 percent.

Hitwise defines market share of visits within a site category as the percentage of traffic to a particular site based on its sample of 10 million U.S. Web users.


Democratic Candidates’ Site Traffic
Market Share and Rankings
May Market Share Ranking Campaign Web site Traffic Market Share April Market Share Ranking March Market Share Ranking
1. Hillary Clinton For President www.hillaryclinton.com 32.15% 2 2
2. Barack Obama www.barackobama.com 27.64% 1 1
3. John Edwards For President www.johnedwards.com 23.07% 3 3
4. Bill Richardson for President Exploratory Committee www.richardsonforpresident.com 6.11% 6 4
5. Dennis Kucinich 2008 www.kucinich.us 4.11% 4 8
6. Gravel 2008 www.gravel2008.us 2.94% 7 7
7. Joe Biden for President www.joebiden.com 2.90% 5 5
8. Chris Dodd for President www.chrisdodd.com 1.09% 8 6
Source: Hitwise, 2007


Republican Candidates’ Site Traffic
Market Share and Rankings
May Market Share Ranking Campaign Web site Traffic Market Share April Market Share Ranking March Market Share Ranking
1. Ron Paul 2008 www.ronpaul2008.com 27.35% 5 8
2. Mitt Romney www.mittromney.com 20.87% 3 3
3. John McCain 2008 www.johnmccain.com 12.62% 2 2
4. Rudy Giuliani Presidential Exploratory Committee www.joinrudy2008.com 11.00% 4 1
5. Draft Fred Thompson For President 08 www.fred08.com 8.19% 6 6
6. Team Tancredo www.teamtancredo.com 6.63% 1 4
7. Duncan Hunter for President www.gohunter08.com 5.93% 7 5
8. Explore Huckabee www.explorehuckabee.com 3.84% 8 7
9. Brownback for President www.brownback.com 2.54% 10 9
10. Tommy 2008 www.tommy2008.com 0.71% 9 10
11. Jim Gilmore 08 www.jimgilmore08.com 0.32% 11 11
Source: Hitwise, 2007

Related reading

alibaba
amp
google-changes
placement
<